Wheaton Public Library
Library Home Library Information My Account Online Catalog Research Contact Us

New Book Alerts - Top Choices 

New Book Alerts is a free online service that showcases the newest titles purchased by your local library. You can select to receive alerts via email and/or RSS feeds. If you see a new title that you are interested in, just click "borrow" to place a hold on the item right away.


Previous | New books between: Jan 26th and Feb 25th | Next
Subscribe via email or RSS

The Goal: A Process of Ongoing Improvement  
  

By Jeff Cox.  North River Press; 3rd Revised edition.



Eliyahu M. Goldratt is an internationally recognized leader in the development of new business management concepts and systems, and acts as an educator to many of the world's corporations. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Falling Upward: A Spirituality for the Two Halves of Life  
  

By Richard Rohr.  Jossey-Bass; 1 edition.



In Falling Upward, Fr. Richard Rohr seeks to help readers understand the tasks of the two halves of life and to show them that those who have fallen, failed, or "gone down" are the only ones who understand "up." Most of us tend to think of the second half of life as largely about getting old, dealing with health issues, and letting go of life, but the whole thesis of this book is exactly the opposite. What looks like falling down can largely be experienced as "falling upward." In fact, it is not a loss but somehow actually a gain, as we have all seen with elders who have come to their fullness. Explains why the second half of life can and should be full of spiritual richness Offers a new view of how spiritual growth happens?loss is gain Richard. Rohr is a regular contributing writer for Sojourners and Tikkun magazines This important book explores the counterintuitive message that we grow spiritually much more by doing wrong than by doing right--a fresh way of thinking about spirituality that grows throughout life.

The DASH Diet Action Plan: Proven to Boost Weight Loss and Improve Health (A DASH Diet Book)  
  

By Marla Heller.  Grand Central Life & Style.



The complete guide to lowering blood pressure and cholesterol-without medication-through a proven diet, exercise, and weight loss program Finally, the #1 ranked DASH diet is popularized and user-friendly. Unlike any diet before it, DASH, which stands for Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension, came out of groundbreaking NIH-funded research. Now, Marla Heller, MS, RD, who was trained by one of the primary architects of the DASH diet and is herself the leading dietician putting DASH into action for over ten years, shares the secret to making the diet easy and accessible, in THE DASH DIET ACTION PLAN. Rich in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, low-fat and nonfat dairy, lean meats, fish, beans, and nuts, DASH is grounded in healthy eating principles that lower blood pressure; reduce the risk of heart disease, stroke, and some types of cancer; and support reaching and maintaining a healthy weight.

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots  
  

By Deborah Feldman.  Simon & Schuster.



In the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, Unorthodox is a captivating story about a young woman determined to live her own life at any cost. The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting memoir, Deborah Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious tradition that values silence and suffering over individual freedoms. The child of a mentally disabled father and a mother who abandoned the community while her daughter was still a toddler, Deborah was raised by her strictly religious grandparents, Bubby and Zeidy. Along with a rotating cast of aunts and uncles, they enforced customs with a relentless emphasis on rules that governed everything from what Deborah could wear and to whom she could speak, to what she was allowed to read.

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats  
  

By Jan-Philipp Sendker.  Other Press; Translation 2006 edition.





The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body  
  

By Susan Gregory.  Tyndale House Publishers, Inc..



What if you could grow closer to God and improve your health in just 21 days? Susan Gregory, "The Daniel Fast Blogger," has a plan to help you do just that. Widely recognized as the expert on this 21-day fast inspired by the book of Daniel, Susan has helped thousands of people discover a safe and healthy way to fast. The principles you learn from The Daniel Fast will change the way you view food, your body, and your relationship with the one who created you. Includes 21 days' worth of Daniel Fast recipes! Visit www.daniel-fast.com

Healing ADD: The Breakthrough Program That Allows You to See and Heal the 6 Types of ADD  
  

By Daniel G. Amen.  Berkley Trade; 1st edition.



Hard, visual data make a compelling case for the existence of attention deficit disorder (ADD) in this pioneering work by Daniel G. Amen, M.D. Using a nuclear medicine technique called "single photon emission computed tomography" (SPECT)--a controversial step, according to some of his peers--Dr. Amen scans patients' brains to identify various abnormalities. From more than 8,000 such studies and more than 12,000 patient evaluations, Dr. Amen concludes that six--not the formerly presumed two--different types of ADD exist. This book encompasses the full spectrum of Dr. Amen's work: from symptom identification to clinical evaluation, to diet and medication recommendations, to everyday strategies for living with ADD (whether the reader is a parent of an ADD child, or has been diagnosed with the disease.

A Confident Heart: How to Stop Doubting Yourself and Live in the Security of God's Promises  
  

By Renee Swope.  Revell.



Step out of the shadows of self-doubt to live with a confident heartEver feel like you're not good enough, smart enough, or valuable enough? Renee Swope understands. Even with a great family, a successful career, and a thriving ministry, she still struggled with self-doubt. Sharing her own personal story, Renee shows you how to rely on the power of God's promises to find the security you need and the confidence you long for! Exchange fear-filled thinking with faith-filled believingFail forward when life or sin sets you backEmbrace your God-given purpose, passion, and personalitySee beyond who you are to who you are becoming in ChristPowerful Scripture-based prayers are at the end of each chapter, along with Bible study questions and a chart with thirty-one promises to replace our most common self-doubts.

An Everlasting Meal: Cooking with Economy and Grace  
  

By Tamar Adler.  Scribner.



Amazon Exclusive: Michael Ruhlman Reviews An Everlasting Meal Michael Ruhlman is the author of The French Laundry Cookbook and The Making of a Chef. I'm sent countless advanced proofs of books asking for "blurbs," words of praise that the publisher can use to entice book buyers. I get so many, in fact, that they can feel more a burden than a pleasure. An Everlasting Meal by a writer I didn't know was one such book, so it was all but accidental that it came with me on a July trip to the beaches of the Outer Banks of North Carolina, where I opened it, reclined on a towel on a gorgeous stretch of sand. By the time I was half finished, I'd already contacted the editor to say I'd happily write something on behalf of this book, because I love it.

Summer Knight (Dresden Files, Book 4)  
  

By Jim Butcher.  Roc.



Private detective/wizard-for-hire Harry Dresden is suckered into tangling in the affairs of Faerie, where the fate of the entire world-and his soul-are at stake.

 1 2 3 >  Last ›

Share/Bookmark

New Book Alerts is offered in conjunction with www.DearReader.com.
Join us at Facebook or Twitter.