History

New Book Alerts is a free online service that showcases the newest titles purchased by your local library. You can select to receive alerts via email and/or RSS feeds. If you see a new title that you are interested in, just click "check catalog" to place a hold on the item right away.


Previous | Last 30 days

Print   |   RSS
Switch View
  • Revolutionary Russia, 1891-1991: A History

    Revolutionary Russia, 1891-1991: A History

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Orlando Figes
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Metropolitan Books (2014, Apr 8th).
    Pages:   

    From the author of A People’s Tragedy, an original reading of the Russian Revolution, examining it not as a single event but as a hundred-year cycle of violence in pursuit of utopian dreamsIn this elegant and incisive account, Orlando Figes offers an illuminating new perspective on the Russian Revolution. While other historians have focused their examinations on the cataclysmic years immediately before and after 1917, Figes shows how the revolution, while it changed in form and character, nevertheless retained the same idealistic goals throughout, from its origins in the famine crisis of 1891 until its end with the collapse of the Soviet regime in 1991.Figes traces three generational phases: Lenin and the Bolsheviks, who set the pattern of destruction and renewal until their demise in the terror of the 1930s; the Stalinist generation, promoted from the lower classes, who created the lasting structures of the Soviet regime and consolidated its legitimacy through victory in war; and the generation of 1956, shaped by the revelations of Stalin’s crimes and committed to “making the Revolution work” to remedy economic decline and mass disaffection. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The Price of Silence: The Duke Lacrosse Scandal, the Power of the Elite, and the Corruption of Our Great Universities

    The Price of Silence: The Duke Lacrosse Scandal, the Power of the Elite, and the Corruption of Our Great Universities

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   William D. Cohan
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Scribner (2014, Apr 1st).
    Pages:   

    Bestselling author William D. Cohan, whose reporting and writing have been hailed as “gripping” (the New York Times), “authoritative” (the Washington Post), and “seductively engrossing” (Chicago Tribune), presents a stunning new account of the Duke lacrosse team scandal that reveals the pressures faced by America’s elite colleges and universities and pulls back the curtain, in a riveting narrative, on the larger issues of sexual misconduct, underage drinking, and bad-boy behavior—all too prevalent on campuses across the country. Despite being front-page news nationwide, the true story of the 2006 Duke lacrosse team rape case has never been told in its entirety and is more complex than all the reportage to date would indicate. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival

    Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Peter Stark
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Ecco (2014, Mar 4th).
    Pages:   

    In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Long Mile Home: Boston Under Attack, the City's Courageous Recovery, and the Epic Hunt for Justice

    Long Mile Home: Boston Under Attack, the City's Courageous Recovery, and the Epic Hunt for Justice

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Scott Helman
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Dutton Adult (2014, Apr 1st).
    Pages:   

    In the tradition of 102 Minutes and Columbine, the definitive book on the Boston Marathon bombing and subsequent manhunt for the Tsarnaev brothers, written by reporters from The Boston Globe and published to coincide with the first anniversary of the tragedy Long Mile Home will tell the gripping story of the tragic, surreal, and ultimately inspiring week of April 15, 2013: the preparations of the bombers; the glory of the race; the extraordinary emergency response to the explosions; the massive deployment of city, state, and federal law enforcement personnel; and the nation’s and the world’s emotional and humanitarian response before, during, and after the apprehension of the suspects. The authors, both journalists at The Boston Globe, are backed by that paper’s deep, relentless, and widely praised coverage of the event. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • An Idea Whose Time Has Come: Two Presidents, Two Parties, and the Battle for the Civil Rights Act of 1964

    An Idea Whose Time Has Come: Two Presidents, Two Parties, and the Battle for the Civil Rights Act of 1964

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Todd S. Purdum
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Henry Holt and Co. (2014, Apr 1st).
    Pages:   

    A top Washington journalist recounts the dramatic political battle to pass the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the law that created modern America, on the fiftieth anniversary of its passageIt was a turbulent time in America—a time of sit-ins, freedom rides, a March on Washington and a governor standing in the schoolhouse door—when John F. Kennedy sent Congress a bill to bar racial discrimination in employment, education, and public accommodations. Countless civil rights measures had died on Capitol Hill in the past. But this one was different because, as one influential senator put it, it was “an idea whose time has come.”In a powerful narrative layered with revealing detail, Todd S. Purdum tells the story of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, recreating the legislative maneuvering and the larger-than-life characters who made its passage possible. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • How Jesus Became God: The Exaltation of a Jewish Preacher from Galilee

    How Jesus Became God: The Exaltation of a Jewish Preacher from Galilee

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Bart D. Ehrman
    Format:   
    Publisher:   HarperOne (2014, Mar 25th).
    Pages:   

    New York Times bestselling author and Bible expert Bart Ehrman reveals how Jesus’s divinity became dogma in the first few centuries of the early church.The claim at the heart of the Christian faith is that Jesus of Nazareth was, and is, God. But this is not what the original disciples believed during Jesus’s lifetime—and it is not what Jesus claimed about himself. How Jesus Became God tells the story of an idea that shaped Christianity, and of the evolution of a belief that looked very different in the fourth century than it did in the first.A master explainer of Christian history, texts, and traditions, Ehrman reveals how an apocalyptic prophet from the backwaters of rural Galilee crucified for crimes against the state came to be thought of as equal with the one God Almighty, Creator of all things. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • British History For Dummies

    British History For Dummies

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Seán Lang
    Format:   
    Publisher:   For Dummies; 3 edition (2011, Mar 14th).
    Pages:   

    This book is a riotous, irreverent account of the people and events that have shaped Britain. Always getting those kings and queens confused? Never sure what happened when? Then you need this book. Inside you'll find rip-roaring stories of power-mad kings, executions, invasions, high treason, global empire building, and forbidden love — not bad for a nation of stiff upper lips! Revised and expanded to include the historical parliamentary elections of 2010 and the British mission in AfghanistanAccompanied by access to a timeline and 'Who's Who in British History' section on dummies.comThis new edition contains an 8-page color insert so you can see who, what and where the ensuing historical action takes place more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • American Spartan: The Promise, the Mission, and the Betrayal of Special Forces Major Jim Gant

    American Spartan: The Promise, the Mission, and the Betrayal of Special Forces Major Jim Gant

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Ann Scott Tyson
    Format:   
    Publisher:   William Morrow (2014, Mar 11th).
    Pages:   

    Lawrence of Arabia meets Sebastian Junger’s War in this unique, poignantly dramatic true story of heroism and heartbreak in Afghanistan, written by a veteran war correspondent—one of the most remarkable stories of love and war ever told.Army Special Forces Major Jim Gant changed the face of America’s war effort in Afghanistan. A decorated Green Beret who spent years in Afghanistan and Iraq training indigenous fighters, Gant argued for embedding autonomous units with tribes across Afghanistan to earn the Afghans’ trust and transform them into a reliable ally to defeat the Taliban and counter al-Qaeda networks. The military's top brass, including General David Petraeus, commander of U.S. Forces in Afghanistan, approved, and Gant was tasked with implementing his controversial strategy. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Running a Thousand Miles for Freedom: The Escape of William and Ellen Craft

    Running a Thousand Miles for Freedom: The Escape of William and Ellen Craft

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   William Craft ,
    Format:   
    Publisher:   CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; Lrg edition (2013, Nov 9th).
    Pages:   

    Having heard while in Slavery that "God made of one blood all nations of men," and also that the American Declaration of Independence says, that "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal; that they are endowed by their Creator with certain inalienable rights; that among these, are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness;" we could not understand by what right we were held as "chattels." Therefore, we felt perfectly justified in undertaking the dangerous and exciting task of "running a thousand miles" in order to obtain those rights which are so vividly set forth in the Declaration. I beg those who would know the particulars of our journey, to peruse these pages. This book is not intended as a full history of the life of my wife, nor of myself; but merely as an account of our escape; together with other matter which I hope may be the means of creating in some minds a deeper abhorrence of the sinful and abominable practice of enslaving and brutifying our fellow-creatures. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Once Upon the Tiber

    Once Upon the Tiber

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Rose Williams
    Format:   Paperback
    Publisher:   Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers (2007, Sep 1st).
    Pages:   134


    more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability

 1 2 3 >  Last ›