Science

New Book Alerts is a free online service that showcases the newest titles purchased by your local library. You can select to receive alerts via email and/or RSS feeds. If you see a new title that you are interested in, just click "check catalog" to place a hold on the item right away.


Previous | Last 30 days

Print   |   RSS
Switch View
  • How We Do It: The Evolution and Future of Human Reproduction

    How We Do It: The Evolution and Future of Human Reproduction

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Robert Martin
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Basic Books (2013, Jun 11th).
    Pages:   320

    Despite the widespread belief that natural is better when it comes to sex, pregnancy, and parenting, most of us have no idea what “natural” really means; the origins of our reproductive lives remain a mystery. Why are a quarter of a billion sperm cells needed to fertilize one egg? Are women really fertile for only a few days each month? How long should babies be breast-fed?In How We Do It, primatologist Robert Martin draws on forty years of research to locate the roots of everything from our sex cells to the way we care for newborns. He examines the procreative history of humans as well as that of our primate kin to reveal what’s really natural when it comes to making and raising babies, and distinguish which behaviors we ought to continue—and which we should not. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Trespassing on Einstein's Lawn: A Father, a Daughter, the Meaning of Nothing, and the Beginning of Everything

    Trespassing on Einstein's Lawn: A Father, a Daughter, the Meaning of Nothing, and the Beginning of Everything

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Max Tegmark
    Format:   Deckle Edge]
    Publisher:   Bantam (2014, Jan 14th).
    Pages:   

    In a memoir of family bonding and cutting-edge physics for readers of Brian Greene’s The Hidden Reality and Jim Holt’s Why Does the World Exist?, Amanda Gefter tells the story of how she conned her way into a career as a science journalist—and wound up hanging out, talking shop, and butting heads with the world’s most brilliant minds.   At a Chinese restaurant outside of Philadelphia, a father asks his fifteen-year-old daughter a deceptively simple question: “How would you define nothing?” With that, the girl who once tried to fail geometry as a conscientious objector starts reading up on general relativity and quantum mechanics, as she and her dad embark on a life-altering quest for the answers to the universe’s greatest mysteries. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Mother Nature Is Trying to Kill You: A Lively Tour Through the Dark Side of the Natural World

    Mother Nature Is Trying to Kill You: A Lively Tour Through the Dark Side of the Natural World

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Craig Nelson
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Touchstone (2014, Mar 4th).
    Pages:   272

    From Barnes & NobleYou might love nature, but don't expect nature to love you back. That seems to be the subliminal message of this new book by Dan Riskin. The host/spoilsport of Animal Planet's Monsters Inside Me runs through humankind's Seven Deadly Sins, pausing at each to show how our creature cousins are equally guilty of violations. Thus, he exposes the lustful ways of big-horned sheep and vampire bats so slothful that they feed on the blood of sleeping birds. And we won't even hint at the wrathful ways of killer snails... Definitely one of the most quirky, outrageously entertaining nature books of the season. Publishers Weekly12/16/2013 In a thoroughly engaging if somewhat simplistic survey of nature, Riskin, co-host of Discovery Canada's Daily Planet and host of Animal Planet's Monsters Inside Me, makes it abundantly clear that there's no sense in turning to the natural world for advice about leading a moral life. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Oxygen: A Four Billion Year History

    Oxygen: A Four Billion Year History

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Donald E. Canfield
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Princeton University Press (2013, Dec 10th).
    Pages:   

    The air we breathe is twenty-one percent oxygen, an amount higher than on any other known world. While we may take our air for granted, Earth was not always an oxygenated planet. How did it become this way? Oxygen is the most current account of the history of atmospheric oxygen on Earth. Donald Canfield--one of the world's leading authorities on geochemistry, earth history, and the early oceans--covers this vast history, emphasizing its relationship to the evolution of life and the evolving chemistry of the Earth. With an accessible and colorful first-person narrative, he draws from a variety of fields, including geology, paleontology, geochemistry, biochemistry, animal physiology, and microbiology, to explain why our oxygenated Earth became the ideal place for life. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The Extreme Life of the Sea

    The Extreme Life of the Sea

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Stephen R. Palumbi
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Princeton University Press (2014, Feb 23rd).
    Pages:   

    The ocean teems with life that thrives under difficult situations in unusual environments. The Extreme Life of the Sea takes readers to the absolute limits of the ocean world--the fastest and deepest, the hottest and oldest creatures of the oceans. It dives into the icy Arctic and boiling hydrothermal vents--and exposes the eternal darkness of the deepest undersea trenches--to show how marine life thrives against the odds. This thrilling book brings to life the sea's most extreme species, and tells their stories as characters in the drama of the oceans. Coauthored by Stephen Palumbi, one of today's leading marine scientists, The Extreme Life of the Sea tells the unforgettable tales of some of the most marvelous life forms on Earth, and the challenges they overcome to survive. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Wireless at War: Developments in Military and Clandestine Radio, 1895-2012

    Wireless at War: Developments in Military and Clandestine Radio, 1895-2012

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Peter R. Jensen
    Format:   Paperback
    Publisher:   Rosenberg Publishing (2013, Jun 3rd).
    Pages:   352

    1 online resource (352 p. :) ill. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

    The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Elizabeth Kolbert
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Henry Holt and Co. (2014, Feb 11th).
    Pages:   336

    From Barnes & NobleAccording to the United Nations Environment Program, our planet is losing 1050 to 1400 plant, insect, and animal species each week. This is nearly 1,000 times the "natural" rate; indeed, the highest kill-rate experienced since the demise of the dinosaurs nearly 65 million years ago. This new book by New Yorker writer and Field Notes from a Catastrophe author Elizabeth Kolbert takes us into both past extinctions and future possible calamities. The Sixth Extinction is not, however, a science fiction fantasy; it is based on her consultation with dozens of scientists and other researchers. Essential reading for those concerned with our environment. The New York Times - Michiko Kakutani …Elizabeth Kolbert's arresting new book…is the very model of explanatory journalism, making highly complex theories and hypotheses accessible to even the most science-challenged of readers, while providing a wonderfully tactile sense of endangered (or already departed) species and their shrinking habitats…Ms. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • A Trust Betrayed: The Untold Story of Camp Lejeune and the Poisoning of Generations of Marines and Their Families (A Merloyd Lawrence Book)

    A Trust Betrayed: The Untold Story of Camp Lejeune and the Poisoning of Generations of Marines and Their Families (A Merloyd Lawrence Book)

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Mike Magner
    Format:   Kindle Edition
    Publisher:   Da Capo Press (2014, Mar 11th).
    Pages:   

    While the big bad corporation has often been the offender in many of the world’s greatest environmental disasters, in the case of the mass poisoning at Camp Lejeune the culprit is a revered institution: the US Marine Corps. For two decades now, revelations have steadily emerged about pervasive contamination, associated clusters of illness and death among the Marine families stationed there, and military stonewalling and failure to act. Mike Magner’s chilling investigation creates a suspenseful narrative from the individual stories, scientific evidence, and smoldering sense of betrayal among those whose motto is undying fidelity. He also raises far-reaching and ominous questions about widespread contamination on US military bases worldwide. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

    A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Ruth Kassinger
    Format:   Kindle Edition
    Publisher:   William Morrow (2014, Feb 25th).
    Pages:   

    In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today’s extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from brown thumb to green, sharing lessons she learned from building a home conservatory in the wake of a devastating personal crisis.In A Garden of Marvels, she extends the story. Frustrated by plants that fail to thrive, she sets out to understand the basics of botany in order to become a better gardener. She retraces the progress of the first botanists who banished myths and misunderstandings and discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, roots choose their food, and hormones make morning glories climb fence posts. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • 3D Printing For Dummies

    3D Printing For Dummies

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Kirk Hausman
    Format:   Paperback
    Publisher:   For Dummies; 1 edition (2013, Oct 21st).
    Pages:   384

    Get started printing out 3D objects quickly and inexpensively!3D printing is no longer just a figment of your imagination. This remarkable technology is coming to the masses with the growing availability of 3D printers. 3D printers create 3-dimensional layered models and they allow users to create prototypes that use multiple materials and colors.  This friendly-but-straightforward guide examines each type of 3D printing technology available today and gives artists, entrepreneurs, engineers, and hobbyists insight into the amazing things 3D printing has to offer. You’ll discover methods for the creation of 3D printable objects using software, 3D scanners, and even photographs with the help of this timely For Dummies  guide.Includes information on stereolithography, selective sintering, fused deposition, and granular binding techniquesCovers the potential for the transformation of production and manufacturing, reuse and recycling, intellectual property design controls, and the commoditization of traditional products from magazines to material goodsWalks you through the process of creating a RepRap printer using open-source designs, software, and hardwareAddresses the limitations of current 3D printing technologies and provides strategies for improved success3D Printing For Dummies is the must-have guide to make manufacturing your own dynamic designs a dream come true! . more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability

 1 2 3 >  Last ›