All Non-Fiction

New Book Alerts is a free online service that showcases the newest titles purchased by your local library. You can select to receive alerts via email and/or RSS feeds. If you see a new title that you are interested in, just click "check catalog" to place a hold on the item right away.


Previous | Last 30 days

Print   |   RSS
Switch View
  • Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Carl Hoffman
    Format:   
    Publisher:   William Morrow (2014, Mar 18th).
    Pages:   

    The mysterious disappearance of Michael Rockefeller in New Guinea in 1961 has kept the world and his powerful, influential family guessing for years. Now, Carl Hoffman uncovers startling new evidence that finally tells the full, astonishing story.Despite exhaustive searches, no trace of Rockefeller was ever found. Soon after his disappearance, rumors surfaced that he'd been killed and ceremonially eaten by the local Asmat—a native tribe of warriors whose complex culture was built around sacred, reciprocal violence, head hunting, and ritual cannibalism. The Dutch government and the Rockefeller family denied the story, and Michael's death was officially ruled a drowning. Yet doubts lingered. Sensational rumors and stories circulated, fueling speculation and intrigue for decades. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The 30-Day Heart Tune-Up: A Breakthrough Medical Plan to Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease

    The 30-Day Heart Tune-Up: A Breakthrough Medical Plan to Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Steven Masley
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Center Street; 1 edition (2014, Feb 4th).
    Pages:   

    The revolutionary new program presented in this book helps everyone have a healthy heart. In THE 30-DAY HEART TUNE-UP Dr. Masley will first help you to determine your heart health. He will then take you step-by-step through a program to tune up your heart, energy, waistline, and sex life. Cardiovascular disease is the #1 killer of Americans today, and while most doctors focus on lowering cholesterol and blood pressure they are overlooking the real culprit: growth of arterial plaque. Cholesterol-reducing statins treat some signs of heart disease, but not the most common cause of arterial plaque growth. Studies now show that the dramatic increase in pre diabetes, obesity, and the overuse of sugar and trans fat cause most heart disease. Dr. Masley explains the new state-of-the art tests available that can show arterial plaque growth at a much earlier stage-and what steps you can take to actually stop and reverse the growth. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Pete Rose: An American Dilemma

    Pete Rose: An American Dilemma

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Kostya Kennedy
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Sports Illustrated (2014, Mar 11th).
    Pages:   

    "Kennedy's book on the tarnished and enigmatic Rose is exceptional. Like the best writing about sport--Liebling, Angell--it qualifies as stirring literature. I'd read Kennedy no matter what he writes about." --Richard FordPete Rose played baseball with a singular and headfirst abandon that endeared him to fans and peers, even as it riled others--a figure at once magnetic, beloved and polarizing. Rose has more base hits than anyone in history, yet he is not in the Hall of Fame. Twenty-five years ago he was banished from baseball for gambling, then ruled ineligible for Cooperstown; today, the question "Does Pete Rose belong in the Hall of Fame?" has evolved into perhaps the most provocative in sports, a layered, slippery and ever-relevant moral conundrum. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The Backyard Homestead: Produce all the food you need on just a quarter acre!

    The Backyard Homestead: Produce all the food you need on just a quarter acre!

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Carleen Madigan
    Format:   Paperback
    Publisher:   Storey Publishing, LLC (2009, Feb 11th).
    Pages:   368

    Put your backyard to work! Enjoy fresher, organic, better-tasting food all the time. The solution is as close as your own backyard. Grow the vegetables and fruits your family loves; keep bees; raise chickens, goats, or even a cow. The Backyard Homestead shows you how it's done. And when the harvest is in, you'll learn how to cook, preserve, cure, brew, or pickle the fruits of your labor.From a quarter of an acre, you can harvest 1,400 eggs, 50 pounds of wheat, 60 pounds of fruit, 2,000 pounds of vegetables, 280 pounds of pork, 75 pounds of nuts. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Dirty Daddy: The Chronicles of a Family Man Turned Filthy Comedian

    Dirty Daddy: The Chronicles of a Family Man Turned Filthy Comedian

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Bob Saget
    Format:   
    Publisher:   It Books (2014, Apr 8th).
    Pages:   

    Millions of viewers know and love Bob Saget from his role as the sweetly neurotic father on the smash hit Full House, and as the charming wisecracking host of America's Funniest Home Videos. And then there are the legions of fans who can't get enough of his scatological, out-of-his-mind stand-up routines, comedy specials, and outrageously profane performances in such shows as HBO's Entourage and the hit documentary The Aristocrats.In his bold and wildly entertaining publishing debut, he continues to embrace his dark side and gives readers the book they have long been waiting for—hilarious and often dirty. Bob believes there's a time and a place for filth. From his never-before-heard stories of what really went on behind the scenes of two of the most successful family shows of all times, with co-stars like John Stamos and Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, to his tales of legendary friends and colleagues like Rodney Dangerfield, Richard Pryor, Don Rickles, and other show business legends, Saget opens up about some of his personal experiences with life and death, his career, and his reputation for sick humor—all with his highly original blend of silliness, vulgarity, humor and heart, and all framed by a man who loves being funny above all else. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • McGraw-Hill Education TASC (Mcgraw Hill's Tasc)

    McGraw-Hill Education TASC (Mcgraw Hill's Tasc)

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Mcgraw-Hill
    Format:   Paperback
    Publisher:   Mcgraw-Hill... (2013, Jan 1st).
    Pages:   448


    more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Carla's Comfort Foods: Favorite Dishes from Around the World

    Carla's Comfort Foods: Favorite Dishes from Around the World

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Carla Hall
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Atria Books (2014, Apr 1st).
    Pages:   

    For Carla Hall, co-host of ABC’s The Chew, food is a wonderful way to forge connections with and between people. In her delicious new cookbook, Carla’s Comfort Foods, she finds inspiration by going around the world in search of the universal home-cooked flavors of comfort. Spinning standbys into distinctive new recipes, she combines the beloved flavors of home with the most delectable, enticing spices and tastes of international cuisine. Carla starts with your essential recipe for perfect all-American burgers; from there, you can choose to do them up Persian-style with Cucumber Yogurt Sauce, lime, and fragrant spices; or give them a Vietnamese twist with pickled veggies, scallions, ginger, and cilantro; or take your burgers to Morocco with gutsy spices, chiles, and feta cheese. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s

    Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Jeff Pearlman
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Gotham (2014, Mar 4th).
    Pages:   

    The New York Times bestselling author of Sweetness delivers the first all-encompassing account of the 1980s Los Angeles Lakers, one of professional sports’ most-revered—and dominant—dynasties.   The Los Angeles Lakers of the 1980s personified the flamboyance and excess of the decade over which they reigned. Beginning with the arrival of Earvin “Magic” Johnson as the number-one overall pick of the 1979 draft, the Lakers played basketball with gusto and pizzazz, unleashing their famed “Showtime” run-and-gun style on a league unprepared for their speed and ferocity—and became the most captivating show in sports and, arguably, in all-around American entertainment. The Lakers’ roster overflowed with exciting all-star-caliber players, including center Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and they were led by the incomparable Pat Riley, known for his slicked-back hair, his Armani suits, and his arrogant strut. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The Diabetes Breakthrough: Based on a Scientifically Proven Plan to Lose Weight and Cut Medications

    The Diabetes Breakthrough: Based on a Scientifically Proven Plan to Lose Weight and Cut Medications

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Osama Hamdy
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Harlequin (2014, Feb 25th).
    Pages:   

    Why WAIT? In this groundbreaking book, diabetes and weight management expert Osama Hamdy, M.D., Ph.D., reveals how you can reverse the course of your type 2 diabetes, lose weight for good and finally reclaim your health—in just 12 weeks! Dr. Hamdy is at the forefront of cutting-edge clinical research conducted at Joslin Diabetes Center, an affiliate of Harvard Medical School. For the first time, he shares those scientific breakthroughs in a usable and doable step-by-step 12-week plan based on the successful Why WAIT (Weight Achievement and Intensive Treatment) program he conducts at Joslin. And with the professionally formulated exercise plans fine-tuned by Dr. Sheri Colberg, an exercise physiologist and renowned diabetes fitness expert, you'll not only get results but keep them. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The Last Pirate: A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana

    The Last Pirate: A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Tony Dokoupil
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Doubleday (2014, Apr 1st).
    Pages:   

    In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting and often hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joined the biggest pot ring of the Reagan era and exploded his life in the process. Three decades later, his son came back to put together the pieces.As he relates his father’s rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil tells the larger history of marijuana and untangles the controversies still stirring furious debate today. He blends superb reportage with searing personal memories, presenting a probing chronicle of pot-smoking, drug-taking America from the perspective of the generation that grew up in the aftermath of the Great Stoned Age. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability

 < 1 2 3 4 >  Last ›