Science

New Book Alerts is a free online service that showcases the newest titles purchased by your local library. You can select to receive alerts via email and/or RSS feeds. If you see a new title that you are interested in, just click "check catalog" to place a hold on the item right away.


Previous | Last 30 days

Print   |   RSS
Switch View
  • Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

    Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Francis Spufford
    Format:   
    Publisher:   HarperOne (2013, Oct 15th).
    Pages:   

    Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made. more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • The Age of Radiance: The Epic Rise and Dramatic Fall of the Atomic Era

    The Age of Radiance: The Epic Rise and Dramatic Fall of the Atomic Era

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Craig Nelson
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Scribner (2014, Mar 25th).
    Pages:   

    From the New York Times bestselling author of Rocket Men and the award-winning biographer of Thomas Paine comes the first complete history of the Atomic Age, a brilliant, magisterial account of the men and women who uncovered the secrets of the nucleus, brought its power to America, and ignited the twentieth century. When Marie Curie, Enrico Fermi, and Edward Teller forged the science of radioactivity, they created a revolution that arced from the end of the nineteenth century, through the course of World War II and the Cold War of superpower brinksmanship, to our own twenty-first-century confrontation with the dangers of nuclear power and proliferation—a history of paradox, miracle, and nightmare. While nuclear science improves our everyday lives—from medicine to microwave technology—radiation’s invisible powers can trigger cancer and cellular mayhem. more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • Earth: An Alien Enterprise: The Shocking Truth Behind the Greatest Cover-Up in Human History

    Earth: An Alien Enterprise: The Shocking Truth Behind the Greatest Cover-Up in Human History

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Timothy Good
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Pegasus; 1 edition (2013, Nov 14th).
    Pages:   352

    A shocking new exposé of the twentieth century’s extraterrestrial visitations (and cover-ups) by distinguished UFologist Timothy Good This fascinating new volume tells the story of contact between aliens and humans from all across the globe, dating back to 1932, including meetings with military personnel and American presidents such as Eisenhower and Kennedy. For the first time, a former member of MI6 reveals her conversation with Neil Armstrong at a NASA conference, when he confirmed that there were “other” spacecraft on the Moon when Apollo 11 landed in 1969. Armstrong also confirmed that the CIA was behind the cover-up. In a further admission in December 2012, Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev revealed that “the president of Russia is given a special top secret folder [that] in its entirety contains information about aliens who have visited our planet. more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • Johnny Appleseed and the American Orchard: A Cultural History

    Johnny Appleseed and the American Orchard: A Cultural History

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   William Kerrigan
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Johns Hopkins University Press (2012, Oct 2nd).
    Pages:   

    <I>Johnny Appleseed and the American Orchard</I> illuminates the meaning of Johnny "Appleseed" Chapman’s life and the environmental and cultural significance of the plant he propagated. Creating a startling new portrait of the eccentric apple tree planter, William Kerrigan carefully dissects the oral tradition of the Appleseed myth and draws upon material from archives and local historical societies across New England and the Midwest. </P><P>The character of Johnny Appleseed stands apart from other frontier heroes like Davy Crockett and Daniel Boone, who employed violence against Native Americans and nature to remake the West. His apple trees, nonetheless, were a central part of the agro-ecological revolution at the heart of that transformation. more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys

    Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Michael Collins
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Farrar, Straus and Giroux; 40th Anniversary Edition edition (2009, Jun 23rd).
    Pages:   

    The years that have passed since Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin, and Michael Collins piloted the Apollo 11 spacecraft to the moon in July 1969 have done nothing to alter the fundamental wonder of the event: man reaching the moon remains one of the great events—technical and spiritual—of our lifetime.In this remarkable book, Michael Collins conveys, in a very personal way, the drama, beauty, and humor of that adventure. He also traces his development from his first flight experiences in the air force, through his days as a test pilot, to his Apollo 11 space walk, presenting an evocative picture of the joys of flight as well as a new perspective on time, light, and movement from someone who has seen the fragile Earth from the other side of the moon. more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • Microinteractions: Full Color Edition: Designing with Details

    Microinteractions: Full Color Edition: Designing with Details

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Dan Saffer
    Format:   Paperback
    Publisher:   O'Reilly Media; Full Color Edition edition (2013, Nov 1st).
    Pages:   


    more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • A Very Short Tour of the Mind: 21 Short Walks Around the Human Brain

    A Very Short Tour of the Mind: 21 Short Walks Around the Human Brain

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Michael Corballis
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Overlook Hardcover (2013, Jul 11th).
    Pages:   112

    Why do we remember faces but not names? If your brain were cut in half would you suffer more than a splitting headache? How does your dog remember where it buried its bone but you can't find your keys? And do we really only use ten percent of our brains? In A Very Short Tour of the Mind, Michael C. Corballis answers these questions and more. The human mind is arguably the most complex organ in the universe. Modern computers might be faster, and whales might have larger brains, but neither can match the sheer intellect or capacity for creativity that we humans enjoy. In this gem of a book, Corballis introduces us to what we've learned about the intricacies of the human brain over the last fifty years. Leading us through behavioral experiments and neuroscience, cognitive theory and Darwinian evolution with his trademark wit and wisdom, Corballis punctures a few hot-air balloons; "Unleash the creativity of your right brain!") and explains just what we know--and don't know--about our own minds. more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • Pure and Modern Milk: An Environmental History since 1900

    Pure and Modern Milk: An Environmental History since 1900

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Kendra Smith-Howard
    Format:   
    Publisher:   Oxford University Press, USA (2013, Nov 8th).
    Pages:   

    Americans have never been more concerned about their food's purity. The organic trade association claims that three-quarters of all consumers buy organic foods each year, spending billions of dollars "Dairy farm families, health officials, and food manufacturers have simultaneously stoked human desires for an all-natural product and intervened to ensure milk's safety and profitability," writes Kendra Smith-Howard. In Pure and Modern Milk, she tells the history of a nearly universal consumer product, and sheds light on America's food industry. Today, she notes, milk reaches supermarkets in an entirely different state than it had at its creation. Cows march into milking parlors, where tubes are attached to their teats, and the product of their lactation is mechanically pumped into tanks. more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • Alien Universe: Extraterrestrial Life in Our Minds and in the Cosmos

    Alien Universe: Extraterrestrial Life in Our Minds and in the Cosmos

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Mr. Richard Toronto
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Johns Hopkins University Press (2013, Sep 9th).
    Pages:   208

    If extraterrestrials exist, where are they? What is the probability that somewhere out there in the universe an Earth-like planet supports an advanced culture? Why do so many people claim to have encountered Aliens? In this gripping exploration, scientist Don Lincoln exposes and explains the truths about the belief in and the search for life on other planets. Whether you are drawn to the psychological belief in Aliens, the history of our interest in life on other planets, or the scientific possibility of Alien existence, Alien Universe is sure to hold you spellbound.  Read more... more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books
  • Blue Future: Protecting Water for People and the Planet Forever

    Blue Future: Protecting Water for People and the Planet Forever

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Maude Barlow
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   New Press, The (2014, Jan 7th).
    Pages:   336

    Publishers Weekly11/04/2013 Canadian water activist Barlow follows up Blue Gold and Blue Covenant with a third volume that again sounds alarms about a coming worldwide water crisis. She begins with the 2010 UN General Assembly resolution "recognizing the human right to safe and clean drinking water and sanitation," noting its potential power as a tool in the "struggle for water justice in the world." Through statistics and anecdotes, Barlow outlines the need for water justice—whether in agriculture, industry, mining, energy production, or the direct control of water. Multinational corporations pollute water sources, restrict access to clean water, and contribute to desertification and habitat degradation. International treaties and government partnerships enable these behaviors, and mining companies in particular have even taken deadly action against groups that resist them. more

    Check Availability | More Info | Google Books

 1 2 >