All Fiction

New Book Alerts is a free online service that showcases the newest titles purchased by your local library. You can select to receive alerts via email and/or RSS feeds. If you see a new title that you are interested in, just click "check catalog" to place a hold on the item right away.


Previous | Last 14 days

Print   |   RSS
Switch View
  • Sacre Bleu: A Comedy d'Art

    Sacre Bleu: A Comedy d'Art

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Christopher Moore
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   William Morrow (2012, Apr 3rd).
    Pages:   416

    A rollicking tale that features special printed map endpapers and more than two dozen masterpieces of art throughout the book, SacrÉ Bleu is better than a day at the museum! It is the color of the Virgin Mary's cloak, a dazzling pigment desired by artists, an exquisite hue infused with danger, adventure, and perhaps even the supernatural. It is . . . SacrÉ Bleu In July 1890, Vincent van Gogh went into a cornfield and shot himself. Or did he? Why would an artist at the height of his creative powers attempt to take his own life . . . and then walk a mile to a doctor's house for help? Who was the crooked little "color man" Vincent had claimed was stalking him across France? And why had the painter recently become deathly afraid of a certain shade of blue? These are just a few of the questions confronting Vincent's friends—baker-turned-painter Lucien Lessard and bon vivant Henri Toulouse-Lautrec—who vow to discover the truth about van Gogh's untimely death. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Fair Game (Alpha And Omega)

    Fair Game (Alpha And Omega)

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Patricia Briggs
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Ace Hardcover (2012, Feb 7th).
    Pages:   320

    Patricia Briggs, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson novels, "always enchants her readers." (Lynn Viehl, New York Times bestselling author) Now her Alpha and Omega series-set in a world of shifting shapes, loyalty, and passion- brings werewolves out of the darkness and into a society where fear and prejudice could make the hunters prey... They say opposites attract. And in the case of werewolves Anna Latham and Charles Cornick, they mate. The son-and enforcer-of the leader of the North American werewolves, Charles is a dominant alpha. While Anna, an omega, has the rare ability to calm others of her kind.Now that the werewolves have revealed themselves to humans, they can't afford any bad publicity. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The House at Tyneford: A Novel

    The House at Tyneford: A Novel

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Natasha Solomons
    Format:   Paperback
    Publisher:   Plume (2011, Dec 27th).
    Pages:   368

    For fans of Downton Abbey, a New York Times bestseller, the start of an affair, the end of an era Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden and Sarah Jio's The Violets of March will love this New York Times bestselling sweeping historical novel of love and loss. It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When the master of Tyneford's young son, Kit, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford—and Elise—forever. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Calico Joe

    Calico Joe

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   John Grisham
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Doubleday (2012, Apr 10th).
    Pages:   208

    A surprising and moving novel of fathers and sons, forgiveness and redemption, set in the world of Major League Baseball…  Whatever happened to Calico Joe?      It began quietly enough with a pulled hamstring. The first baseman for the Cubs AAA affiliate in Wichita went down as he rounded third and headed for home. The next day, Jim Hickman, the first baseman for the Cubs, injured his back. The team suddenly needed someone to play first, so they reached down to their AA club in Midland, Texas, and called up a twenty-one-year-old named Joe Castle. He was the hottest player in AA and creating a buzz. In the summer of 1973 Joe Castle was the boy wonder of baseball, the greatest rookie anyone had ever seen. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Barefoot Season

    Barefoot Season

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Susan Mallery
    Format:   Paperback
    Publisher:   Mira; Original edition (2012, Mar 27th).
    Pages:   368

    Michelle Sanderson may appear to be a strong, independent woman, but on the inside, she's still the wounded girl who fled home years ago. A young army vet, Michelle returns to the quaint Blackberry Island Inn to claim her inheritance and recover from the perils of war. Instead, she finds the owner's suite occupied by the last person she wants to see.Carly Williams and Michelle were once inseparable, until a shocking betrayal destroyed their friendship. And now Carly is implicated in the financial disaster lurking behind the inn's cheerful veneer.Single mother Carly has weathered rumors, lies and secrets for a lifetime, and is finally starting to move forward with love and life. But if the Blackberry Island Inn goes under, Carly and her daughter will go with it. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The Shoemaker's Wife: A Novel

    The Shoemaker's Wife: A Novel

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Adriana Trigiani
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Harper (2012, Apr 24th).
    Pages:   352

    Beloved New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani returns with the most epic and ambitious novel of her career—a breathtaking multigenerational love story that spans two continents, two World Wars, and the quest of two star-crossed lovers to find each other again. The Shoemaker's Wife is replete with the all the page-turning adventure, sumptuous detail, and heart-stopping romance that has made Adriana Trigiani, “one of the reigning queens of women’s fiction” (USA Today). Fans of Trigiani’s sweeping family dramas like Big Stone Gap and Lucia, Lucia will love her latest masterpiece, a book Kathryn Stockett, author of The Help, calls “totally new and completely wonderful: a rich, sweeping epic which tells the story of the women and men who built America dream by dream. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Twisted

    Twisted

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Laura Griffin
    Format:   Mass Market Paperback
    Publisher:   Pocket Star (2012, Apr 17th).
    Pages:   400

    ALLISON DOYLE’S NEW CASE WILL MAKE HER CAREER . . . IF SHE LIVES TO SOLVE IT. Motive, opportunity, and no alibi—rookie detective Allison Doyle knows it’s as close to a slam dunk as most investigations get. But even though her small-town Texas police department has identified a prime suspect in a young woman’s vicious murder, she can’t rest easy. And when legendary FBI profiler Mark Wolfe shows up with a startling new theory, all her doubts are amplified. If Wolfe is correct, the real killer is an elusive psychopath who has left a trail of bodies behind him. And he’s just days away from his next kill. . . . Allison was supposed to be Wolfe’s way into the case, nothing more. But she’s ambitious, stubborn, and far too tempting. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection: No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (13)

    The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection: No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (13)

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Alexander McCall Smith
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Pantheon (2012, Apr 3rd).
    Pages:   224

    THE NO. 1 LADIES’ DETECTIVE AGENCY - Book 13 Fans around the world adore the bestselling No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, the basis of the HBO TV show, and its proprietor Precious Ramotswe, Botswana’s premier lady detective.  In this charming series, Mma  Ramotswe navigates her cases and her personal life with wisdom, and good humor—not to mention help from her loyal assistant, Grace Makutsi, and the occasional cup of tea.  Precious Ramotswe is haunted by a repeated dream: a vision of a tall, strange man who waits for her beneath an acacia tree. Odd as this is, she’s far too busy to worry about it. The best apprentice at Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors is in trouble with the law and stuck with the worst lawyer in Gaborone. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Undercover Bodyguard (Love Inspired Suspense)

    Undercover Bodyguard (Love Inspired Suspense)

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   Shirlee McCoy
    Format:   Mass Market Paperback
    Publisher:   Love Inspired (2012, Apr 3rd).
    Pages:   224

    Bakery owner Shelby Simons can't deny a stalker is after her. Still, knowing she's at risk is one thing. Admitting she needs a bodyguard is quite another. Especially when the bodyguard is Ryder Malone. The former SEAL is too big, too tough and way too attractive. Yet Ryder won't take no for an answer. If she can't find a place for him in her life, he'll make one, working undercover to protect Shelby and find her attacker. But as Ryder and Shelby get closer to answers—and each other—the killer starts closing in…. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability
  • Angels of Vengeance

    Angels of Vengeance

    Author/Actors/Director/etc.:   John Birmingham
    Format:   Hardcover
    Publisher:   Del Rey (2012, Apr 10th).
    Pages:   544

    When an inexplicable wave of energy slammed into North America, millions died. In the rest of the world, wars erupted, borders vanished, and the powerful lost their grip on power. Against this backdrop, with a conflicted U.S. president struggling to make momentous decisions in Seattle and a madman fomenting rebellion in Texas, three women are fighting their own battles—for survival, justice, and revenge.Special agent Caitlin Monroe moves stealthily through a South American jungle. Her target: a former French official now held prisoner by a ruthless despot. To free the prisoner, Caitlin will kill anyone who gets in her way. And then she will get the truth about how a master terrorist escaped a secret detention center in French Guadeloupe to strike a fatal blow in New York City. more

    More Info | Google Books | Check Availability

 1 2 3 >  Last ›